Detroit Guitar Legend Dennis Coffey Joins Strut For A New Album

It is with great pleasure that we have the opportunity to announce that legendary guitarist Dennis Coffey will be releasing his new album on Strut. We’ve been working really closely with Dennis on the project, and can safely say that fans of his wah-wah and breakbeat laden solo material, as well as his pioneering work backing folks like The Temptations, Parliament, Edwin Starr & more will be delighted with what they hear.
One of the really fun things about the project from a record collector’s standpoint is that about half of the material reaches back to classic soul songs on which Dennis first appeared, with guest vocal duties handled by a truly amazing array of musicians. Mayer Hawthorne croons over Parliament’s “All Your Goodies Are Gone” from their Up For The Down Stroke LP. Two more Detroit belters, The Dirtbombs’ Mick Collins and Rachel Nagy of The Detroit Cobras, join the party with another George Clinton related tune, Funkadelic’s “I’ll Bet You.” Paolo Nutini delivers a great adaption of “Only Good For Conversation,” from Rodriguez’s much loved Cold Fact album. Fanny Franklin from killer Hollywood funk combo Orgone voices a new version of Wilson Pickett’s psych-soul jam “Don’t Knock My Love” and Lisa Kekaula from California garage-soul band The Bellrays takes on the 100 Proof Aged In Soul stomper “Somebody’s Been Sleeping.”

For his new compositions on the album, Coffey revisits the uncompromising instrumental style he is renowned for. Milwaukee funk sensations Kings Go Forth (Luaka Bop) mould an intense funk jam around some heavy Coffey licks on ’Miss Millie.’ Album opener ’7th Galaxy’ echoes the hard guitar ’n’ breaks of his Detroit Guitar Band recordings for Sussex, ’Knockabout’ whips up an epic funky soundtrack groove and ’Space Traveller’ simmers on a sleazy, guitar-drenched, slo mo workout.
Dennis will be touring internationally to support the record, kicking things off with several appearances at SXSW (including some special guest sets that we’ll tell you about soon). We’re also planning an exclusive 7″ for Record Store Day, and some other fun celebrations for that event, so keep your eyes open for details.
“Dennis Coffey” will be out April 25th.
Keep up with Dennis at and Tracklist:
1. 7th Galaxy
2. Don’t Knock My Love feat. Fanny Franklin
3. All Your Goodies Are Gone feat. Mayer Hawthorne
4. I Bet You feat. Mick Collins (Dirtbombs) and Rachel Nagy (Detroit Cobras)
5. Miss Millie feat. Kings Go Forth
6. Somebody’s Been Sleeping feat. Lisa Kekaula
7. Plutonius
8. Knockabout
9. Only Good For Conversation feat. Paolo Nutini
10. Space Traveller
11. Don’t Knock My Love (Part 2)