Nigeria 70 – Definitive LP Edition

The first Nigeria 70 collection, originally released in 2001, will always have a special place in our heats. It remains to us one of the most clear expressions of what we love about Afrobeat, and African music of the 70s. With the launch of our new web store, we thought we’d take the opportunity to put together something special to celebrate this release, and to make the music available once again on vinyl.

This definitive reissue features the original LP remastered and pressed on 180g triple vinyl in a gatefold sleeve. The package comes with the full 2CD edition of the album and a copy of the Nigeria 70 audio documentary, unavailable since the original CD issue (also as download as soon as the package is shipped).

Narrated by Wunmi with commentary by the late Nigerian academic “Elder” Steve Rhodes, this one-hour piece is an essential snapshot of the 1970s Lagos scene and the cultural and political context from many of the key players of the time. It includes interviews with Ginger Baker, Fela Kuti, Ebenezer Obey, Segun Bucknor, Joni Haastrup of Monomono and many more.

Nigeria 70 – The Definitive LP Edition on the Strut web store

Digital Download (STRUT044CDX)

Welcome To Nigeria – Introduction: Welcome to Nigeria
Nigeria 70 Documentary – Interlude
Nigeria 70 Documentary – Highlife Time
Fela Kuti, Tony Allen and Ginger Baker – Fela Kuti, Tony Allen and Ginger Baker
Voices of the People – Voices of the people: social commentary, critical statement and satire
Charlie Dark – Charlie Dark: ‘Nigeria 70’ poem

Vinyl (STRUT044LP)

Orlando Julius & The Afro Sounders – Alo Mi Alo (Parts 1 & 2)
Segun Bucknor & His Revolution – La La La
Lijadu Sisters – Orere Elejigbo
Peter King – Shango
Sahara All Stars Band Jos – Enjoy Yourself
Fela Ransome Kuti & The Africa 70 – Jeun Ko Ku (Chop ‘N’ Quench)
Tunji Oyelana & The Benders – Ifa
Ofo The Black Company – Allah Wakbarr
The Funkees – Dancing Time
Monomono – Tire Loma Da Nigbehin
Bala Miller & The Great Music Pirameeds Of Afrika – Ikon Allah
Sir Victor Uwaifo & His Melody Maestroes – Akuyan Ekassa
Shina Williams & His African Percussionists – Agboju Logun
Gasper Lawal – Kita Kita
Sunny Ade & His African Beats – Ja Fun Mi (Instrumental)